Sitaram Nagar, Velachery, Chennai - 42
Latest News  
Event Detail  
Event Start Date : 28/11/2017 Event End Date 29/11/2017



Verbattle - The Annual National Debating Championship 2017 was held for the Tamil Nadu Region on 28th and 29th November, 2017. The Zonal and Regional Rounds for the Region was hosted at D.A.V. Public School, Velachery, Chennai-42.

The contest was held for 3 categories namely Beginners (III - V), Juniors (VI - IX) and Seniors (Std. X) at 3 Levels - Zonal, Regional Combat and Regional Confrontation.

Mr. Aaryan Salman, Program Officer, Verbattle Foundation  moderated the 3 levels of the contest. While connoisseurs from the Media, Medical Field, Hospitality Industry, Education and Sports field assessed and evaluated the debators in the different rounds.

40 Schools contested in the Zonal Round of the Chennai Chapter. 27 Schools made it to the Regional Combat while 9 schools were adjudged the winners in the Regional Confrontation. The Debating contest witnessed an all new format that not only gave the upcoming debators a chance to research, express, communicate but also negotiate through their arguments with ease.

The teams and their mentors were given 'Statements' by pick of lots to place their arguments 'for' or 'against'. The teams were given ample time to make quick researches and use convincing ideas to prove their point. Interestingly the format had room for the mentors to pose a question to the opponent teams.

The eloquent debators democratically deliberated on the 'Statement' and earned a berth in each round. The convincing proportions and oppositions paved way for the success of the 9 teams from Chennai and Coimbatore to make it to the Nationals that will be held during January, 2018 in Bengaluru. The teams from Chettinad Vidyashram, Chennai, D.A.V. Public School, Velachery, Chennai and Sudharshanam Vidyashram, Coimbatore have qualified for the Nationals.

Our Students of Std. VIII, IX and X too contested in Verbatle. While Saranya Sarathy and Mubashirah Shakir made it to the Regional Combat; Ishaan Rath and Stephi Priscilla fought it out till the End. The School is proud of Pranav Agumbe and Mukundan Alexander of Std. X who have qualified for the Nationals.


     The winning Teams in the "Regional Combat Round" along with         The Jury along with the Host School Principal Mrs. Minoo Aggarwal and                                    the mentors of the Regional Confrontation.                                                   The Winning teams for the Verbattle Nationals.